http://www.nme.com/news/nickelback/61623

Taken from article:

“The band recently received a tweet saying: “Was driving down the street, and a @Nickelback song came on. I had an aneurism and violently s**t myself at the same time. And my dog died.” The band quickly went on to reply: “I bet it was the best day you’ve had in awhile. #yourwelcome.” The social networking conversation continued: “Nickelback came on the radio… Worse than rebecca black #earsbleeding.” The band then responded: “Then it’s working?!?!? Sweet!”

The article also mentions word about The Black Keys dissing on Nickelback.

“This follows the band’s response to The Black Keys’ drummer Patrick Carney who claimed there was a lull in guitar groups coming to the fore, blaming Nickelback for rock’n’roll’s decline.

“He told Rolling Stone: “Rock’n’roll is dying because people became OK with Nickelback being the biggest band in the world… So they became OK with the idea that the biggest rock band in the world is always going to be s**t – therefore you should never try to be the biggest rock band in the world. F**k that.””

With tongue placed firmly in cheek, Nickelback responded via Twitter writing:

Thanks to the drummer in The Black Keys calling us the Biggest Band in the World in Rolling Stone. Hehe.

All the italicized text was taken from the article linked at the top of the page.

I gotta hand it to Nickelback, I’ve always admired their personalities and the way they handle all the hate that they get. Their hate certainly isn’t unwarranted as I do believe that they are indeed a TERRIBLE band for many of the same reasons that they are commonly hated (and more), but I’ve always admired their attitudes; they know how to brush the hate off and rebut with simple, tongue-in-cheek comebacks.

It always makes me laugh to see bands diss each other, as shown above. When a respected band talks trash about a talentless, commonly hated band, it gives me this warm, fuzzy feeling inside. Being the cynicist that I am, it feels good (in a strange, peculiar way) to know that there are famous people out there that feel the way I’m feeling, and are willing to throw the whole idea of good public image out the window to speak their mind.

I may sound cruel for saying this, but more music artists should be like the Black Keys; if enough of them express their distaste for Nickelback, then maybe they’ll start to reconsider the quality of their career as a band. Help the world by eliminating one horrible band at a time. 🙂

